I’m in Jamaica!

So it’s been forever since I’ve blogged but I’m on a journey this week and I wanted to share it with you.

First, let me start with how I got here in the first place.

In December of 2016, I received an email from Crosspoint Ministries asking me to consider going on a mission trip to Jamaica. I had just gotten a new position at my company and I didn’t think I would get permission to go. Then the trip cost $2300 and I knew I couldn’t pay for the whole thing on my own. Lastly, while my heart’s desire is to go out into the world and teach I didn’t know if I was ready.

One by one God started knocking my reservations down. I went to my supervisor with a plan to pretty much beg for the time off. Before I got even half of my case out she said yes. I had gotten a Christmas bonus so I was able to pay my $200 deposit with that. Lastly, I received a Word of Knowledge that confirmed with what I believed God was telling me to do. Go to Jamaica and love on the kids there.

Then, donations slowly but surely started trickling in from my Facebook campaign. While I had many who gave, $1750 was due in by January 20th and I was still $1000 short. My birthday is January 22nd and I was praying for some people to give me cash for my birthday so I could use it towards my trip. While a few did give me cash, it wasn’t enough to cover the $1000 I needed.

Then on Monday, my dad texted me and said that he wanted to sow $1000 to my trip!!! I was dumbfounded. While I was still believing for the money I wasn’t expecting it to come in this way.

After that donation, the rest of the money just came rolling in and the trip was paid in full the week of Valentine’s Day. Not only that, but I then had people who sowed candy, bubbles, toys, coloring books, Easter eggs, balloons and other things to bring to the kids in Jamaica. Β While I watched all this, I had a memory of a prophecy given to me at a women’s conference a few years back. That God would take care of whatever costs associated with mission trips I wanted to go on. All I had to do was ask.

So now I’m here, March 11th-18th, and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for us. A small but mighty band of 8 people going out to love on the people of Jamaica.

Tomorrow is day one of the work. We’re splitting into 2 groups and going to a couple of churches. Someone will preach and then the rest of us will be altar workers. I’m an altar worker by the way. I’m not quite ready to preach in a pulpit. πŸ˜‰

So for who ever might be reading this, I ask that you pray for miracles, signs, and wonders to run rampant through this week as well as the people, both the Jamaicans and the missionaries, to experience God’s love like never before.

I believe that’s the theme of the week. God’s Love.

Comment and tell me what God’s Love means to you.

Happy Daylight Savings Day!!!

Blessings to you all,

Shineka

2 thoughts on “I’m in Jamaica!

  1. Almost three years since your last blog post, Ms. Robinson. Almost three years. But this is a GREAT way to jump back in – and you better post updates! Have fun and take lots of pictures. πŸ™‚

    What does God’s love mean to me? Hopefully that he’s patient with me. Really, really patient because I’ve got a long way to go before I’d consider myself where I need to be. πŸ™‚

    1. What can I say, my life gets busy sometimes. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I like your answer by the way. I believe God’s Love is patient. At least one aspect of it is. I hope you experience His patience surrounding you and showing you just how far you’ve come since you let Him enter your life.

Leave a Reply

