Unemployment Transition.

Hello Readers!

I hope you all have been doing well.  I know I’ve been enjoying my time the last few weeks.

Since I don’t officially start working again until June 16th, I’ve been treating these last few weeks as an extended vacation.  I’ve been to Carowinds, which is an amusement park near Charlotte, NC.  I had a dear friend who had bought a ticket to Joyfest and at the last-minute she wasn’t able to make it so she gave her ticket to me.

OMG People!!!!!!!  For those of you who are asking, “What the heck is  Joyfest?” Let me try to explain it to you.  Joyfest is an all the way live Gospel concert series that features some of the best artists of our day. This years acts included: the talented Tamela Mann,

Lecrae,

and my personal favorite Kirk Franklin!!!!

I was blessed to go with some of the greatest ladies I know. How can you beat great company, rollercoasters, and awesome gospel music!

Roadtrip to Carowinds
Roadtrip to Carowinds

We had so much fun and can I say Kirk Franklin knows how to do a show.  He actually started his part of the concert in the middle of the audience and we got this close to him as he made his way to the stage.

Believe it or not, that blur is Kirk Franklin running past us.
Believe it or not, that blur is Kirk Franklin running past us.

I was so exhausted after that Saturday excursion I don’t know how I even made it to church early Sunday morning but I did!  This particular Sunday was Kids Service Sunday in our 1st-5th grade class. That’s where the wonderful kids in our church get to take over and run the service!  The kids we had this month did an exceptional job.

On Monday, my besties and I went to Folly Beach in Charleston, SC!

Charleston is the city that I would love to live in one day.  It has history, wonderful food, two great beaches, and divine shopping.  Basically, it has everything I look for in a vacation spot.  The best part is that it is only a few hours away from where I live. God is good. 🙂

My Besties and Me!
My Besties and Me!
Folly Beach!
Folly Beach!

So we chilled at the beautiful beach for a few hours, ate at Bubba Gump’s Shrimp Co. for dinner , and for dessert we went to Paolo’s for my favorite Gelato. (Gelato was very important to my life that day.)

The best part of my winding down to stable employment again is that I can look back on some really great memories to sustain me when I get back to the 9-5 grind.

If I’ve learned anything from this whole experience is that I have to definitely enjoy everyday to its fullest. Even when I start back to work, I want to make sure that I’m living and not just existing.

Smooches,

Shineka

Leave a Reply

