Countdown to Unemployment

Hello Dear Readers!
So I guess you can see what the topic of this post is going to be.
I guess to tell the story well, I have to start at the beginning.  So here goes…
For those who don’t know, my birthday is January 22nd which fell on a Wednesday this year.  Since it’s kind of hard to celebrate in the middle of the week I decided to go out for lunch with some friends the Sunday after.  It was a great day. I got some pretty awesome gifts, including some prayer for a year with open doors and moving to another level in my life.  Little did I know how prophetic that prayer would turn out to be. (SMH ;-))
The next day, Monday, January 27th, 2014 I found out that I and other people in the same position as I in the company had been laid off.  It was quite strange actually how it all went down.  I came to work at 11 as scheduled and did as I normally do when I come to work.  I clocked in grabbed my debit card and headed towards Starbucks to get my customary cup of coffee and a cup of ice water.  Before I could get out the door I hear my manager page me over the intercom asking me to dial a certain extension.
I called her and she asked me to meet her in her office.  After I hung up this feeling kind of came over me that I was about to be fired.  I had no reason to know this for a fact but, I knew something was up and it didn’t feel like a good something either.  So I go to her office we have light conversation for a minute or two and then she proceeds to read me a letter that explained that the position I held at the store had been deleted.  My position was that of a Wedding and Gift Registry Consultant for a major Department Store.  I was given three choices.  I could A) Apply for the newly created Wedding Advisor position, B) Apply for another position in the store, or C) take a severance package and try to find something else.
After receiving that bombshell, I was in state of shock, tears, and strangely enough relief. (Don’t quite understand that one at all)
So after talking to the HR manager about all the details of each option I went home at the end of the day and cried and prayed.  Course, I also put my prayer warrior friends on the case as well.  I didn’t know which way to turn and I felt very broken about the situation.  I’ve never been let go from a job before in my life.  I worked for 5 years with one company to pay for school and when I left there I left on my own steam to work for my present employer.  I’ve been with this company for 10 years.  So the thought of being without a job shook me up.
To my mind none of the options were all that appealing.  I’ll break them down so you can see what I was looking at.
A) With the new Advisor position, I would have been the only person in the department. (The part-time consultant lost her job all together.)  Which meant with the new schedule for this position I’d be working three out of four weekends.  From other posts I’ve done I’m sure you know I’m very active in my church and enjoy the different ministries I work with there.  If I applied and got the position I would have to give up most of the work I do there.  Not only that but I’d only get to go to church one Sunday a month.  For me that was not an option.
B) The only full-time position open in my store was that of a sales associate in the men’s department.  As a sales associate I’d be responsible for sales goals and so forth.  Which would be fine but I also know that if something went wrong in the Wedding & Gift section or there wasn’t somebody around to help a couple and I was in the men’s department working I know I would be pulled over there to fix the problem.  Well, if I’m doing wedding and gift registry then I can’t make my sales goal. If I don’t make my sales goals then I get in trouble and endanger my job even more.  So that didn’t look like a great option either.
C) Walk out into the unknown job market and trust God for all my needs as I’ve always said I did anyway. A good option but a very scary one.
To be even more honest I had already been applying to jobs before this all went down.
To put the pressure on I only had two weeks to make my final decision.
So after tossing to and from, praying, crying, and wrestling with my decisions I made the only choice that offered me some sort of crazy peace.  The severance package.
To my natural mind it didn’t make a lick of sense but if I stayed with my employer I felt like I would only be settling instead of growing.  I have a bachelor’s degree, I’m very intelligent, and I need to move forward in my career not backwards.
The good news in taking the severance package is that the company wanted the consultants to stay until March 29th to help with the transition between the Consultant program and the Advisor program.
So I had two months to hopefully find a new job and still have a steady paycheck in the mean time. Well, today is Monday, March 24th and that job has not materialized yet.  There is no turning back for me in this decision.  I’m a little nervous but between my savings, the severance package, and my tax returns I have enough to get me through for about 6 months and if necessary I can also dip into my 401k for back up.  The most important factor in all of this is that I have my God who has promised many times in His Word that he will supply all my needs according to His riches in Glory.  He has supplied me many times before with the little things and He will continue to do so in the even bigger things.
Since, I haven’t posted really in the last year and I have been trying to figure out ideas of what to post on this blog I have decided to make this a personal journey through my ups and downs with unemployment and this test of faith I’m embarking on. (God give me strength)  I promise to be as transparent as I can with this blog.  There will probably be times when I will rant and rave about the unfairness of it all.  You might even see me have a pity party or two but hopefully once this journey is over we will all have gained some insight into God and just how He can work all things into good for those who love Him.
Have a blessed day dear readers and I’ll see you later.
Smooches,
Shineka

My Unemployment Anthem

Leave a Reply

