Hello Dear Readers,

As an aspiring self publishing writer I’ve been trying to learn as much as I can about the industry and the million and one things that go into creating one book.

Lately I have been following the blog of August McLaughlin and found this blog on creating the perfect book cover.

I thought it was great and I hope that the rest of you enjoy it as well and can take something away from it.

Smooches,

Shineka

Girl Boner

“Writing a novel… Now THAT’s hard,” my friend Phil said to me recently.

Phil is a neurologist. He’s brilliant enough to understand the inner-workings of the brain and that carving a creative path isn’t easy. To those of us who adore the process, however, it’s worth every brain cell and glucose molecule required.

As many of you know, LOVEhas been a theme in my life lately. Deciding to self-publish and related happenings have left me punch-drunk exhilarated. Thanks to Steena Holmes, indie author and graphic/book artist extraordinnaire, my latest heart swell derived from developing my cover—one of the most valuable ways we authors have of showing our work some love.

Having complete control over book covers is a huge benefit of self-publishing. It’s also one of the most important factors separating successful indie-authors and those whose books scarcely see the light of day.

The biggest giveaway that one…

View original post 577 more words

One thought on “

  1. August has some great advice, doesn’t she? Much of what I’ve learned over the past 15 months or so has come from people much smarter than I am. And those who have a lot more experience than I do. She’s very spot on with this one. Covers are SO important. Kind of like what outfit you choose to wear for an important meeting. The cover is the first impression anyone will have of your book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

