Why Fear?

Hello Readers!

So as you can see from my title I’m going to be talking about (cue scary music) dun, dun, dun!

Fear!!!

Now listen, I’m not some fearless will try anything once type a person. I’ve always liked my little box and I like to stay in it.  However, in my walk with God I’ve noticed that in order to grow as a person I can’t stay in my little box and I have to move beyond my comfort level.

(Whiny 2 yr old voice kicking in) But I don’t wanna!!!!

The funny thing is the items I kicked and screamed about were the things that caused some of the most amazing things to happen my life. Case in point. As I’ve told you before I went on my first mission trip last year. Now going out of the country wasn’t a big deal to me because I’m an army brat so travelling wasn’t my issue. My issue was trusting God for the money to go on the trip as well as speaking in front of total strangers.

Now I teach children but that’s different from talking to adults. Kids will love you no matter what as long as you are entertaining. Adults will look at you like why are you here and taking up my time? Totally nerve-wracking right!?!  With much prayer, and lots of encouragement I was able to not only speak but also sing in front of these strangers! The experience was exhilarating.

Even before going on the trip though the process of raising the money was an interesting ride in and of itself. The way I was blessed with the money was by baking. Now I have a few friends who knew I could bake pretty decently but it wasn’t a well-known fact amongst my church or my co-workers. So to have to ask people to order cakes and cookies from me was nerve-wracking! The fact that they ordered from me without having tasted my cooking was awe-inspiring and showed me that if you don’t step out there and try you will never accomplish anything.

So now I come back to the original question. Why Fear? Why keep yourself from becoming everything you could be? Why keep yourself from having a new adventure or learning a new skill.

Yes, fear is real, but 9 times out of 10 they won’t ever come true.

Go out and conquer that fear that has been keeping you back and holding you down.

Smooches,

Shineka

3 thoughts on “Why Fear?

  1. This is the second blog I’ve read in a couple of days that talks about stepping out of your comfort zone and growing as a person because of it. I’ve been avoiding some things because I’m comfortable where I’m at in these areas. Well, maybe not comfortable, but they’re in my little box and that’s the safe place to be. Maybe it’s time to break out of the box. Thanks. Now if I find a third one saying that…it’s probably time. 🙂

    1. LOL Peaches! Then I must have written this post for you! I was going to write something else for today but I saw that skit online and changed my mind at the last minute. Hmm. Maybe it is time for you to conquer a fear. Believe me when I say I understand how daunting($2 word. go me) a task that can be. It’s usually the tasks that scare us the most that end up being the most rewarding in the end. I say go for it! You’ve already done something that is pretty amazing to me. You’re a published author of how many books now? If you can do that, you can do anything you set your mind too!

      Love ya,

      Shineka

Leave a Reply

